New Haven Car Accident Lawyer
If you have suffered an injury in an auto collision in New Haven, you may be entitled to compensation. The car accident lawyers at D'Amico & Pettinicchi are here to help you obtain justice. We have recovered more than $27,000,000 in compensation specifically from automotive accident lawsuits and charge no upfront fees to handle your lawsuit. Our co-founding partner Tom Pettinicchi is an award-winning attorney that is a member of the Connecticut Trial Lawyers Association and has also been recognized as a "Top 100 Lawyer" by the National Trial Lawyers Association.
For more information about our services and how we can help with your New Haven car accident lawsuit, call us today toll-free at (866) 848-7077.
Filing A Claim For Compensation
If you have been injured in a car accident that was caused by another driver, you may be entitled to file a lawsuit for financial compensation. You may also be entitled to file a claim for any property that was lost or damaged in the accident.
... injury victims have up to two years to file their claim from the date of their accident.
While the recovery amount can vary greatly depending on the specific details of your accident, in the state of Connecticut, injury victims have up to two years to file their claim from the date of their accident. This is commonly known as the Statute of Limitations and in our state, this law is based on Section 52-584 of the General Statues of Connecticut.
When filing an injury claim, you should consider hiring a reputable law firm to help navigate the obstacles that can arise during litigation.
Damages That May Be Available
Quite often, accident victims are hoping to obtain a fair and just amount to help cover their medical costs and to make the necessary repairs to their vehicle to make it roadworthy. However, many motorists do not consider that they may suffer future complications from their injuries that require additional medical treatment or outpatient care services. Understanding these long-term risks is an important part of determining how much compensation to pursue with your lawsuit.
Some areas that you may be able to receive compensation for include:
- Doctor and hospital expenses
- Medication expenses
- Lost wages
- Diminished capacity to perform work duties
- Physical therapy costs
- Rehabilitation costs
- Emotion duress
- Pain and suffering
- Damage to property
Both past AND future expenses can be included in your claim.
It is important to know that your compensation may be decreased if you are found to be partially responsible for causing the accident. According to Connecticut’s modified comparative negligence rule, if your actions were less than 51 percent responsible for causing the accident, your compensation award will be reduced by the percentage of fault you had in causing the accident. If you were more than 51 percent at fault for the accident, you are barred from receiving any compensation.
For example, if you were 10 percent liable for an accident and were asking for $10,000, you would only be able to recover $9,000.
Obstacles You May Face When Pursing A Claim
If you have made the decision to pursue a lawsuit against an at-fault driver, you need to be able to validate the claims that you are making in that lawsuit. A skilled legal team can be very helpful during this development phase of your lawsuit, as they can help to establish:
- The defendant was responsible for the accident (either partially or in full)
- The accident that was the direct cause of the injuries that you sustained
These two points are very important as by establishing negligence, you help to provide your lawsuit with the greatest possible chance of success.
At the law offices of D'Amico & Pettinicchi, we encourage our clients to provide as much information about their incident as possible. Any information collected from the accident scene can be very beneficial, as people often have different memories of what happened in the accident - especially those that were involved in it. Some helpful information may include:
- Photos from the crash scene
- The insurance and contact information of the other driver
- Any contact information from other people who witnessed the crash
- A copy of the accident report
In Connecticut, accident victims are able to apply to the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection to obtain a copy of the Police crash report from their particular accident. There is a non-refundable $16 fee for this service - which is required under Connecticut General Statute Section 29-10b. You can also obtain a New Haven accident report by calling 203-946-6252.
Settlement Offers From Insurance Agencies
Following your accident, you may be contacted by an insurance company to discuss settling your claim. It is very important to understand that the insurance company will often undervalue the extent of your damages. They often rely on accident victims needing funds to pay for mounting medical bills, rental car fees, lost wages and more, which can cloud the judgment of many victims.
While these offers can be tempting, you should contact a local car accident lawyer to obtain his/her opinion on the settlement. In many instances, a skillful lawyer can help represent your best interests and determine the full value of your claim.
It is also worth noting that like many other states in the U.S., Connecticut is an "at-fault" state which means drivers, pedestrians, and passengers have the opportunity to pursue compensation for injuries they have sustained in a crash. There are three options that are commonly available:
- Filing a claim with their own insurance provider (the insurance provider will then seek reimbursement of those funds from the insurance company of the at-fault driver)
- Filing a third party claim directly with the at-fault driver's insurance provider
- Filing a personal injury lawsuit against the at-fault driver
Keeping this in mind, there are minimum coverage amounts that Connecticut drivers are required to carry. These include:
- $40,000 in coverage if more than one person has been hurt or fatally injured (per accident)
- $20,000 in coverage if only one person has been hurt or fatally injured (per accident)
- $20,000 per person in uninsured motorist coverage and $40,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage
- $10,000 for property damage costs (per accident)
At our law firm, we have a comprehensive knowledge of the personal injury laws and insurance policy regulations in Connecticut and welcome the opportunity to assess the merits of your claim.
Causes of Auto Accidents in New Haven
Most accidents are preventable. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates that 94 percent of traffic accidents are due to human error. Some causes of auto collisions include:
- Distracted driving
- Intoxicated driving
- Texting and driving
- Aggressive driving
- Reckless driving
- Driving while drowsy
Millions of people are injured on the roads each year due to another driver's reckless, careless or otherwise negligent behavior. If this happens to you or someone you love, you may be entitled to compensation from the at-fault party and their insurer.
Auto Injury Types
Car accidents are one of the leading causes of death in the country and a major source of emergency room visits. Serious injuries can result in high medical expenses, lost income, and pain and suffering. Some people suffer long-term disability or post-traumatic stress disorder that affects their work and personal life.
Some common auto accident injuries include:
- Spinal injuries
- Bone fractures
- Loss of limb
- Soft tissue injuries
- Traumatic brain injury (TBI)
- Joint problems
If you have been in a severe traffic accident, you should get checked out by a qualified physician, even if there is no immediately visible trauma. Some injuries are internal and take days or weeks to appear.
Whether you injuries are treated at Yale New Haven Hospital or another healthcare provider in the area, it is vital that you obtain medical records detailing the severity of your injuries.
Insurance companies have been known to pressure people into accepting small compensation amounts before they know the full extent of their injuries. Make sure you speak to an attorney before taking any offers.
Fill out our FREE Case Review Form TODAY.
Proven New Haven Car Accident Attorneys
If you have been seriously injured in a car accident, you may have to deal with a drawn-out battle with an insurance company to cover your medical costs.
The insurance companies have experience in denying injury claims and will use it to their advantage.
With an experienced auto injury attorney on your side, you have a much better chance.
The accident lawyers at D'Amico & Pettinicchi have helped many injury victims in New Haven obtain the maximum compensation they deserve.
Call our law office today at (866) 848-7077 to discuss your case and legal options with our team of personal injury lawyers in New Haven. Your initial consultation is 100% free with no obligation. Call today.